I’ve done some reading about Zen of writing and reached a startling conclusion.   I already wirite in a Zen manner.  I can easily see the ‘connection’ between life and behavior.  So, writing Haiku is getting easier then it was even a short while again.   To me, Haiku are concentrated poem.  A flash-bulb moment captured with the fewest of words that paints the largest picture.   I love them!

But this is only a small aspect of Zen in my writing.    I try to forget ‘me’  (You could say that’s tough for a writer!) in my pieces.  So, I love to write from other perspectives.  The tree, mountain, river, etc.  All these things have a projected personality, if you will, that we can feel, touch and experience.  The mountain always means strength,   river refreshment,  tree:  growth/rest, symentry.   And each of you make that connection in a different way, right?  Some might see the mountain as permanence,  the tree as sentry or something like that.   In any case,  it’s obvious that setting self aside in writing is a key attribute of writing  and writing for others.

Second,  write without constraint.  Write it all, practice it all.  Is there any form you don’t want to write?  Try breaking out of the barriers and try it.   I used to say I couldn’t write Haiku – in fact, some of them I didn’t undertsand.  But the more I read the more I liked and as I experimented with them, I became better with them.   I’m certainly no Basho but that’s ok too.

I’ll finish this post in a few days since it’s become so long.  
Dave Barber

27 Nov 08

 

Great Website about this: http://writetodone.com/2008/04/20/zen-power-writing-15-tips-on-how-to-generate-ideas-and-write-with-ease/

